Mountaineering Tragedies from 2011 to 2013

5 Apr

These past 2 years, mountaineering has become enormous in the Philippines. Mountaineers and aspiring mountaineers rapidly increased over the year and most of them neglect the real essence of mountain climbing. Along with this is the increasing rate of accidents and unwanted incidents which often lead to demise.

September 3 2011: Adrian AlbaHe disappeared after swept away by a strong current in Wawa River. They go to Wawa River in Montalban Rizal for a BMC (Basic Mountaineering Course) together with 20 other mountaineers. Adrian Alba’s dead body was found at 7am of September 7, 2011 near the hanging bridge 45 minutes away from Wawa Dam.

Source: GMA News Online

February 29, 2012: Diana Urbano FajardoShe is a first-time climber who hiked to Mt. Batulao in Nasugbu, Batangas with five others when she allegedly lost control while taking pictures and fell 250 feet from Peak 8 of Mt. Batulao. She sustained “intracranial hemorrhage due to traumatic head injury with multiple hematomas and abrasion” in different parts of her body.

Source: Inquirer News

March 31, 2013: Victor Joel AysonFrom his climb in Mt.Guiting-Guiting in Romblon, he immediately proceed to Mt. Maculot in Batangas. He was last seen at around 9 am buying mineral water from a sari-sari store in the camp site. From then on, he failed to return and the authorities conducted a search and rescue operation. Until this very moment I am writing this, there’s still no sign of him. The mountaineering community and his relatives are still hoping to find him alive.

Source: Journal Online

I’m still a newbie hiker but these incidents taught us a lot of lessons and could enlighten everyone on climbing mountains.

First, don’t insist to go if there’s a typhoon especially if there are river crossings on your adventure. Or if you really want to go, make sure that you are fully equipped and physically and mentally prepared.

Second, don’t be carried away by your overflowing happiness on the mountain top. I understand that we are always amazed with the wonderful nature and want to take pictures as remembrance. Just make sure that we are responsible enough and take photos on a safe place.

Third, don’t climb alone. I, myself, have done many solo climbs before and this is one of the lessons I learned from my personal experience. Always go with a buddy or if you really want to have a silent time alone, do it when you’re not exhausted. Read: “My Points of View Regarding Solo Climbs“.

And most of all, always keep in mind that whether it’s a minor or a major climb, we should never underestimate the mountain.

25 Responses to “Mountaineering Tragedies from 2011 to 2013”

  1. milai April 5, 2013 at 5:06 PM #

    This is just so sad. I’ve seen photos of Victor Joel Ayson on Facebook as his family and friends ask for help in finding him. I hope he’s safe and will return home soon to his loved ones.

    Thanks for dropping by my blog.

  2. anne bell April 5, 2013 at 5:20 PM #

    Thanks for stopping by my blog South India Here We Come and liking it. Your tributes to these brave climbers is very touching.

  3. laurabecknielsen April 5, 2013 at 9:14 PM #

    In every sport we enjoy, we must put safety first. It is crucial and intelligent. No one likes remembering someone for being careless and wreckless. However, veryone wants to go on a hike, climb, dive, paddle, etc with the smart, responsible, safe person on the trip. :-)

  4. T Hollis April 5, 2013 at 10:27 PM #

    Excellent advice! Thanks for the reminder. I am climbing Mt. LeConte, a 6400 foot peak, in The Great Smokey Mountains National Park in the eastern United States on April 28th. It will be my first climb, and I will be accompanied by my dear husband – his first climb, too!
    Thanks for stopping by my Post!

  5. sirchip April 5, 2013 at 11:25 PM #

    Nothing personal madam. Adrian Alba wasn’t swept away by a current in Rizal. water was just above his feet. Police reports said it was a drowning incident but clearly impossible.
    Another Girl in Mt. Maculot named Maricris also fell from the (rockies) summit area.

    Don’t want to give a wrong impression but, I was one of the first individual to form a group and went to Mt. Maculot. But even if we are on our 5th day of search and rescue, we are ruling out the implication you are trying to point out. And your info’s are way way far to reality, Viktor Joel Ayson went to the store around 2 to 2:30am to buy a bottle of water and to ask to watch out for his gear, then he proceed trekking around 4am for a day hike to go for some shots for his camera. Between 4:30am up to now he’s still missing.

    please, be responsible with your blog, blogging is meant to inform or share your personal experiences, you are not blogging just because for the sake of may mai blog ka lang at mabasa at malala ang pangalan mo. Viktor is no newbie like you, infact, he is taking a shot to promote Mt. Maculot for his next climb with other guests.

    have you ever heard of the other angle with regards to his sudden lost? The police are looking for a Hold-up angle, they we’re assuming that some lawless person/s tried to hold-up him for his gadgets, and when he refuses to give his belongings, he was deliberately push off the cliff. And alot more of angles.

    • Sha April 6, 2013 at 10:30 AM #

      Thank you for that. I indicate my sources there and I’m just relying on the news. And according to the news, Victor left his backpack at mountaineer’s store at the jump-off around 2-2:30am and last seen at the store in the campsite buying mineral water around 9am. Why don’t you tell the same thing to the media and correct their info? I also don’t intend na “mabasa at maalala ang pangalan” ko ng mga readers. I’m just sharing my thoughts here. And yes, I know the “other angles” of possible things that happened pero hindi dyaryo at media ang blog ko para i-state lahat ng yan. By the way, all of us has only one thing na gustong mangyari: ang makita na siya.

      • sirchip March 22, 2014 at 9:16 PM #

        thanks mam sha.
        Please accept my mellowing tone of apologies. I’m kind of a a **le the time I post my comments. but believe me it’s nothing personal. guess I was just tired of some news na malayo sa totoong nangyayari that time during our efforts of search and rescue. thank you.

    • sunny March 27, 2014 at 12:24 AM #

      dang! dude you’re sounding too stupid here, and acting too much of a know-it-all-veggies. You even mentioned to be responsible with your blog, oh for the love of crap, how you can be responsible with your own blog eh hindi ka marunong umintindi. irita!

  6. kat o April 6, 2013 at 2:25 AM #

    what sucks is everyone was blaming solo hiking when it was only misrepresented by irresponsible hikers. hiking solo means you have to be self-reliant and you also know how to defend yourself. defense in a sense, not only in it’s literal sense but, knowing when to push through with a climb or not.

    i hope the next solo hikers would be more responsible

    • Edgat April 15, 2013 at 10:04 AM #

      I agree.. I myself have done a solo ascent of a 3,180m peak in a territory and terrain unknown and alien to me… but the key element is –yes, being self-reliant and knowing what you’re exactly doing…

  7. DivineSpark April 6, 2013 at 4:08 AM #

    I pray Victor is still alive and that God would somehow lead him out or send help! Good on you Sha for highlighting this for all climbers.

  8. Bien pogi bartolazo April 6, 2013 at 4:56 PM #

    Magubat at malungkot na araw sa inyong lahat!ipagdasal po natin na matagpuan na si sir jayson,i’am proud to be a mountaineer mabuhay po tayong lahat!

  9. IshaiyaFreshlySqueezed April 10, 2013 at 7:58 PM #

    You have a really interesting blog Sha. I appreciate your concern for solo climbers and hikers here, I think it’s very commendable that you wish to bring this issue to light. As someone who has hiked solo on many occasions safety is always my number one safety and concern. You never know what is around the next turn or who you will meet. I have met some pretty awful characters and had many near fatal accidents on my travels over the years. It can be dangerous to travel alone in any circumstance, and that is the risk you take if that is what you choose to do. I always take precautions now and inform as many people as possible of my location when I’m away hiking, that’s all you can do, or just don’t go. My thoughts also go out to the people that have gone missing.
    Thank you for stopping by my blog and liking what I do, it is deeply appreciated. Blessings to you and your family…
    Ishaiya

  10. geetanjalidhar April 12, 2013 at 11:29 AM #

    So sad to read about these tragedies ..Hope god gives their families strength to bear the loss and their hopes intact..Thanks also for stopping by my blog

  11. Edgat April 15, 2013 at 9:57 AM #

    …and please don’t LEAVE your team mates by themselves –or a member of your team, along the trails…

  12. Edgat April 15, 2013 at 10:01 AM #

    Accidents –whether in the mountains or elsewhere, CAN happen… because they are “caused”… so as in mountaineering, an ounce of prudence is a lot lot better than a ton of recovery efforts at the bottom of the peak…

  13. subliblog April 16, 2013 at 10:16 AM #

    It is so sad for the family who lost their dear ones but lesson learned. Don’t go solo. Always go with someone who knows the territory and the risks. Thanks for dropping at my blog.

  14. napperscompanion April 18, 2013 at 10:34 AM #

    Not a happy post, but glad you shared it. Thanks for visiting my blog.

  15. janessa.padin April 19, 2013 at 10:37 AM #

    Hi, Sha. Thanks for liking my post. It’s nice to get a virtual pat in the back from a complete stranger once in a while. :)

  16. cyleodonnell April 23, 2013 at 9:25 PM #

    So sad. But your blog helps spread the word on safety. So great job!

    Thanks for liking my blog, btw!


    cyleodonnell.me

  17. kathyfoote April 26, 2013 at 9:35 PM #

    Hey, Sha, I enjoy your posts, thanks for viewing my blog. When people travel with others there are more eyes alert for possible dangers and hands and feet available for assistance if the unforseeable happens. Common sense, responsible training, and experience are priceless accessories to take when venturing into the outdoors. Safe journeys! Kathy

  18. queenofhearts58 April 29, 2013 at 11:20 AM #

    Thanks for following my blog. I look forward to reading more about yours! Much love and light to you and have a blessed day!

  19. helpavisitor April 29, 2013 at 4:52 PM #

    Great blog.. I love reading it. It makes me remember a lot about my climbing experience. Nice one.

  20. adetka May 1, 2013 at 5:38 PM #

    Hi, thanks for liking my blog! I think your is very unique and it’s a great way to pay tributes to those who died in the mountains. All the best for you!

  21. photobycraig June 12, 2013 at 1:37 AM #

    Your tributes to these folks are wonderful!

    Thanks for stopping by my blog! All the best!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 844 other followers

